RSS Feed

Woes of Mayo…..

Posted on

Okay, I learned a very important lesson a few weeks back and have decided to share it. Never, NEVER, make double batch of homemade mayonnaise. I wanted to be Ms. Susie Homemaker by making homemade mayonnaise for chicken salad that I am serving at a birthday party. I had great plans for it being that talk of the party. (Note, pride comes before a fall) However in this case, the mayonnaise was ruined and my poor, sweet, wonderful dad had to go to the store to buy me some more oil. So, here is the recipe for the mayonnaise as shown in Paula Deen’s Kitchen Classic Cookbook. It is awesome and its fun to add seasonings to it too 🙂 Remember…only make one batch!!!

Easy Homemade Blender Mayonnaise – yields 1 cup

1 cup vegetable oil     1 egg     3 teaspoons fresh lemon juice     3/4 teaspoon salt (I like Kosher)     1/2 teaspoon dry mustard (use garlic powder if you have not mustard)     1 tablespoon hot water

In the container of a blender, combine 1/4 cup of the oil, the egg, lemon juice, salt, and mustard, and blend for just a few seconds. With the blender running (don’t worry you will not get this mixture in you face), take lid off and drizzle in the remaining 3/4 cup oil. Blend in the hot water. Stop blender and put in small container and place in refrigerator.  It will last in the refrigerator about 4 days.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. I love it!!

About Admin

I am a princess of the Most High God who loves to praise Him while in the Kitchen:) I also own SweetCrumbles.com

Leave a Reply

